Our Purpose

The FLY Convention® is the biennial national youth gathering of the Association of Free Lutheran Congregations. The purpose of the FLY Convention® is to provide congregations with a tool for winning the lost, building the believer, and encouraging student disciplemaking in the local congregation. It seems good to us as we join together for common work and fellowship to state our beliefs in regard to the following matters.


The lost.


The believer.


Student disciplemaking.

2019 FLY Committee


Pastor Eric Christenson
FLY President

Location: Amery WI
Occupation: Pastor
Church: Amery Free Lutheran Church, Amery WI 
Hobby: Martial Arts 
Favorite Super Hero: Captain Caveman 
Favorite dum dum flavor: Mystery


Pastor Aaron Olson
First Vice President

Location: Arlington, SD
Occupation: Pastor
Church: Calvary Free Lutheran Church, Arlington SD
Hobby: Running, playing with my kids, harassing my wife, fishing, hunting, reading, motorcycles.
Favorite Super Hero: He-Man
Favorite dum dum flavor: Anything but Root Beer


Andrew Kneeland
Second Vice President

Location: Plymouth, MN
Occupation: Seminary student
Church: Solid Rock Free Lutheran, Anoka MN
Hobby: Anything involving a Frisbee
Favorite Super Hero: Iron Man
Favorite dum dum flavor: Root Beer!


Caleb Holt
Devotional Life Secretary

Location: Saint Michael, MN
Majoring in: Communications 
Church: Living Hope Church, Rogers MN
Hobby: Playing and watching basketball
Favorite Super Hero:  Thor
Favorite dum dum flavor: Chocolate


Julia Erickson

Location: Plymouth, MN
Occupation: Registrar, Academic Support Assistant, Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment Assistant
Church: Solid Rock Free Lutheran Church, Anoka MN
Hobby: Puzzles and Hiking
Favorite Super Hero:  Captain America
Favorite dum dum flavor: Blueraspberry


Emily Goff

Location: Dayton, MN
Occupation: Accountant
Church: Hope Lutheran Church, Minneapolis MN
Hobby: Cross stitch and snuggling my puppies 
Favorite Super Hero: Rainbow Bright
Favorite dum dum flavor: Watermellon


Daniel Keinanen
FLY Convention Coordinator

Location: Onalaska, WI
Occupation: Youth & Worship Pastor 
Church: Christ is Lord Free Lutheran Church, Onalaska WI
Hobby: Family & Legos
Favorite Super Hero: LEGO Batman
Favorite dum dum flavor: Grape… of course!

Chris Rasmussen
Youth Ministries Administrative Coordinator

Location: Maple Grove, MN
Occupation: Administrative Coordinator
Church: Grace Free Lutheran Church, Maple Grove MN
Hobby: Basketball
Favorite Super Hero: Captain America
Favorite dum dum flavor: Peach-Mango


Sharon Rykhus
Youth Board Representative

Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Occupation: Wife, mother, grandma
Church: Abiding Savior Free Lutheran Church, Sioux Falls SD
Hobby: Reading, cooking, and organizing things
Favorite Super Hero: My Grandma, Berniece
Favorite dum dum flavor: I don’t do dum dums